The Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research (MICHR) is here to enable & enhance clinical & translational research at U-M. We do this by being a catalytic partner that educates, funds, connects & supports research teams here and beyond. Think of our helpful and knowledgeable staff and faculty as your extended research team.

View our Prezi overview for more information.

A Message from Director George Mashour, MD, PhD

"The Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research (MICHR) is dedicated to enabling clinical and translational research in order to improve the lives of individuals and their communities. Since its founding in 2006, MICHR has legitimized and promoted clinical and translational investigation at the University of Michigan, serving as a research hub for faculty and staff from 20 schools, colleges, and institutes and more than 170 departments and divisions across campus. We are proud of our past accomplishments—which span education, community engagement, research support, informatics, and more—and are excited about our future. MICHR is committed to developing innovative ways of lowering the barriers to translation and empowering vibrant lives locally, nationally, and internationally."


Founded in 2006, MICHR received a Clinical and Translational Science Award in 2007 from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Renewed in 2012, MICHR is part of a national consortium of 62 academic research institutions funded by the CTSA program, accelerating discoveries toward better health. Throughout 2016-17, we are celebrating our 10 year anniversary.



Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research governance includes an External Advisory Board and the MICHR Cabinet.

External Advisory Board (EAB)
Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola, MD, PhD; UC Davis Health System
Robert Dittus, MD, MPH; Vanderbilt University
Joe G.N. "Skip" Garcia, MD; University of Arizona
Lisa Guay-Woodford, MD; Children's National Medical Center
Harold Pincus, MD; Columbia University
Al Richmond, MSW; Community-Campus Partnerships for Health
Doris Rubio, PhD; University of Pittsburgh (Chair)
Nicholas Schork, PhD; J. Craig Venter Institute (JCVI)

George Mashour, MD, PhD (PI, Director, Chair)
Sue Burhop
Dan Clauw, MD
Jorge Delva, PhD
Vicki Ellingrod, PharmD
Karen Farris, PhD
Teri Grieb, PhD
David Hanauer, MD, MS
Tamara Havermahl, MA
Kori Jones, PhD
Rula Karapatsakis, MS
Kelley Kidwell, PhD
Steve Kunkel, PhD
Kanchan Lota, MPH, CQIA
Julie Lumeng, MD
Jim Maszatics, BA
Tom Perorazio, PhD
Tricia Piechowski, MPH, LLMSW, MA
Jamie Racklyeft, MEd
Blake Roessler, MD
Kevin Weatherwax, CCRC, CCRA

Cite It

If MICHR has provided you with support for your research study, please cite us along with our grant number UL1TR000433, as required by the NIH.