Faculty Members Recognized for Outstanding Mentorship

Mentor award 2018 collage.jpg

Seven faculty members who contribute enormously to the research environment at U-M have been honored with the 2018 Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award.

Out of a competitive field of remarkable and generous research leaders, the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research (MICHR) has selected individuals who meet the highest standard for clinical and translational research mentorship. The pool of nominees represented a diverse group of U-M schools, including Dentistry, Engineering, Institute for Social Research, Literature, Science & the Arts, Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health.

The awardees will be honored at a ceremony on November 29 during the 2018 Mentoring Forum (details here), which will also include an opportunity for the National Research Mentoring Network’s Culturally Aware Mentorship training (details here).

The award was established in 2012 to recognize faculty who foster the intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth of their students, fellows, and trainees in the areas of clinical and translational health and research.

Winners of the 2018 MICHR Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award

Brian T. Denton, Professor of Industrial and Operations Engineering, College of Engineering; Professor of Urology, Medical School; and Member of the Cancer Center, Medical School

Justin B. Dimick, MD, MPH, George D. Zuidema Professor of Surgery, Medical School; Professor of Health Management and Policy, School of Public Health; Director, Center for Healthcare Outcomes and Policy; and Chief, Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery

Margherita Fontana, DDS, PhD, Professor of Cariology, Restorative Sciences and Endodontics, School of Dentistry

Michele Heisler, MD, MPA, Professor of Internal Medicine, Medical School; Professor of Health Behavior and Health Education, School of Public Health; Research Scientist, Ann Arbor VA's Center for Clinical Management Research; Co-Director, the University of Michigan's National Clinician Scholars Program (formerly Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Clinical Scholars Program); Associate Director, Global REACH program, Medical School; and Director, the Michigan Center for Diabetes Translational Research’s Peer Support Core

Celina G. Kleer, M.D., Harold Oberman Collegiate Professor of Pathology, Medical School

Malcolm J. Low, MD, PhD, David F. Bohr Collegiate Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Medical School

Nicholas W. Lukacs, PhD, Godfrey D. Stobbe Professor of Pathology, Medical School