Faculty Members Recognized for Outstanding Mentorship

(L-R: Back row - Pavan Reddy, George Mashour, Russell S. Taichman. Front row: Lewis Morgenstern, Caroline R. Richardson, Karen B. Farris)

Seven faculty members who contribute enormously to the research environment at U-M have been honored with the 2016 Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award.

Out of a very competitive field of remarkable and generous research leaders, the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research (MICHR) has selected individuals who meet the highest standard for clinical and translational research mentorship. The pool of nominees represented a diverse group of U-M schools, including Social Work, Medicine, Dentistry, Public Health, and Pharmacy. 

The award was established in 2012 to recognize faculty who foster the intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth of their students, fellows, and trainees in the areas of clinical and translational health and research.

Winners of the 2016 MICHR Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award:

Karen B. Farris, PhD, Charles R. Walgreen III Professor of Pharmacy Administration, Chair, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy; Professor of Health Behavior and Health Education, School of Public Health

Daniel Michele, PhD, Associate Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, Medical School

James E. Montie, MD, Emeritus Professor of Urology, Medical School

Lewis Morgenstern, MD, Director of the Stroke Program and Associate Chair of Neurology for Faculty Development and Finance; Professor of Neurology, Emergency Medicine and Neurosurgery, Medical School; Professor of Epidemiology, School of Public Health

Pavan Reddy, MD, Moshe Talpaz Professor of Oncology, Professor of Medicine, Medical School

Caroline R. Richardson, MD, Professor of Family Medicine and Associate Chair of Research,Medical School

Russell S. Taichman, DMD, DMSc, Major Ash Collegiate Professor for Periodontics and Oral Medicine and Associate Dean for Research, School of Dentistry.