Faculty Members Recognized for Outstanding Mentorship

Seven faculty members who contribute enormously to the research environment at U-M have been honored with the 2017 Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award.

Out of a competitive field of remarkable and generous research leaders, the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research (MICHR) has selected individuals who meet the highest standard for clinical and translational research mentorship. The pool of nominees represented a diverse group of U-M schools, including Medicine, Dentistry, Public Health, Engineering, Center for Human Growth & Development, Institute for Social Research, and Education.

The award was established in 2012 to recognize faculty who foster the intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth of their students, fellows, and trainees in the areas of clinical and translational health and research.

Winners of the 2017 MICHR Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award

Steven R. Buchman, MD, FACS, M. Haskell Newman Professor in Plastic Surgery; Chief, Pediatric Plastic Surgery; Director, Craniofacial Anomalies Program; Medical School

Vanessa K. Dalton, MD, MPH, Professor, Director, Program on Women’s Health Care Effectiveness Research; Associate Chair of Research, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Medical School

Mariel S. Lavieri, PhD, Associate Professor in Industrial and Operations Engineering, College of Engineering

Julie Lumeng, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, Medical School; Professor of Nutritional Sciences, School of Public Health

Lori Pierce, MD, FASCO, FASTRO, Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs, Professor of Radiation Oncology, Medical School 

Sanjay Saint, MD, MPH, Chief of Medicine, VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System; George Dock Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Medical School

Vincent B. Young, MD, PhD, William Henry Fitzbutler Collegiate Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine/Infectious Diseases Division and the Department of Microbiology & Immunology, Medical School

Learn more about the award or see past recipients here.