MICHR Recognizes Nine Outstanding Faculty Mentors


Nine faculty members who contribute enormously to the research environment at U-M have been honored with the 2019 Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award.

Out of a competitive field of remarkable and generous research leaders, the Michigan Institute for Clinical & Health Research (MICHR) has selected individuals who meet the highest standard for clinical and translational research mentorship. The pool of nominees represented a diverse group of U-M schools, including Dentistry, Engineering, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Public Health, and Social Work.

The Awardees will be honored at a ceremony on November 8 during the 2019 Mentoring Forum, which will also include a presentation by Dr. Becky Wai-Ling Packard, Professor of Psychology and Education at Mount Holyoke College (more information is available here: https://mentoringforum2019.eventbrite.com).

The award was established in 2012 to recognize faculty who foster the intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth of their students, fellows, and trainees in the areas of clinical and translational health and research.

Winners of the 2019 MICHR Distinguished Clinical and Translational Research Mentor Award

Huda Akil, PhD, Gardner Quarton Distinguished University Professor of Neuroscience and Psychiatry, Co-Director and Senior Research Professor, The Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience Institute, Medical School

Vineet Chopra, MD, MSc, Associate Professor of Medicine, Medical School; and Chief of the Division of Hospital Medicine and Research Scientist, VA Ann Arbor Health System

Dana Dolinoy, PhD, NSF International Chair & Professor of Environmental Health Sciences and Professor of Nutritional Sciences, School of Public Health; and Faculty Director, Epigenomics Core, Medical School

Eva L. Feldman, MD, PhD, Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology, Medical School

Joseph Himle, PhD, Howard V. Brabson Collegiate Professor, School of Social Work; and Professor of Psychiatry, Medical School

Matthias Kretzler, MD, Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine and Bioinformatics, Medical School

Louise M. O’Brien, PhD, MS, Louise M. O’Brien, PhD, MS, Associate Professor, Division of Sleep Medicine, Department of Neurology, and Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology, Medical School; and Associate Research Scientist, Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, School of Dentistry

Kevin K. Tremper, PhD, MD, Robert B Sweet Professor and Chair, Department of Anesthesiology, Medical School

Akbar K. Waljee, MD, MSc, AGAF, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology; Director, Inflammatory Bowel Disease Program, VA Ann Arbor HCS, VA CCMR; Director, Prediction Modeling Unit, VA Ann Arbor HCS, VA CCMR; Associate Director, Data and Methods Hub, Institute for Healthcare Policy & Innovation (IHPI); and Associate Director of the Michigan Integrated Center for Health Analytics and Medical Prediction (MiCHAMP)